## TWAS ELECTS 52 NEW MEMBERS

the Academy's 24th General Meeting, held in Buenos Aires from 1 to 4 October 2013. With those new Fellows, TWAS membership rose to 1,105.

Of the new members, 12 are from India; 11 from Brazil; nine from China; four from Taiwan, China; and two from Vietnam. One each was elected from Australia, Azerbaijan, Benin, Ethiopia, France, Japan, Kenya, Pakistan, South Korea, Tanzania, Thailand, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Venezuela. Regionally, 29 are from developing countries in Asia, 11 from Latin America, and three from sub-Saharan Africa. Six of the new members are women.

The full list of new TWAS members elected in 2013:

**01-Agricultural Sciences:** Ricardo Antunes de Azevedo of Brazil; Zeyaur Rahman Khan of India; Papa Abdoulaye Seck of Senegal; and Zhu Yuxian of China.

**02-Structural, Cell and Molecular Biology:** Soo-Chen Cheng of Taiwan, China; Takashi Gojobori of Japan; Tao-Shih Hsieh of Taiwan, China; Helena B. Nader of Brazil; and Jayant Udgaonkar of India.

**03-Biological Systems and Organisms:** Anwar Gilani of Pakistan; Jitendra Paul Khurana of India; Luiz Drude de Lacerda of Brazil; Lee Sang Yup of the Republic of Korea; and Raman Sukumar of India.

**04-Medical and Health Sciences including Neurosciences:** Abraham Aseffa of Ethiopia; Mauricio L. Barreto of Brazil; Kathryn Song Eng Cheah of Malaysia; Yuk Ming Dennis Lo of China (winner of TWAS's 2012 Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize); Narinder Kumar Mehra of India; and Viswanathan Mohan of India.

**05-Chemical Sciences:** Christian Amatore of France; Vanderlan da Silva Bolzani of Brazil; Pratim Kumar Chattaraj of India; Chen Xiao-Ming of China; Gao Song of China; Martyn Poliakoff of the United Kingdom; and Tian He of China.

**06-Engineering Sciences:** Ali Abbasov of Azerbaijan; Chennupati Jagadish of Australia; Anurag Kumar of India; Ranjan Kumar Mallik of India; Hong Mei of China; and Bhim Singh of India.

**07-Astronomy, Space and Earth Sciences:** Eduardo Luiz Damiani Bica of Brazil; Alexander Wilhelm Armin Kellner of Brazil; Shaw Chen Liu of Taiwan, China; Evelyne Isaack Mbede of Tanzania; David Ruffolo of Thailand; and Sreedharan Krishnakumari Satheesh of India.

**08-Mathematical Sciences:** Artur Oscar Lopes of Brazil; Phan Quoc Khanh of Vietnam; Phu Hoang Xuan of Vietnam; and Ivan Shestakov (Chestakov) of Brazil.

**09-Physics:** Nathan Berkovits of Brazil; Adalberto Fazzio of Brazil; Anamaría Font of Venezuela; Shih-Chang Lee of Taiwan, China; Juan Martin Maldacena of the United States; Deepak Mathur of India; and Shen Bao-Gen of China.

**10-Social and Economic Sciences:** Kaushik Basu of India; and Huang Jikun of China.

S Newsletter, Vol. 25 No. 3/4, 2013